How Much Do Benefits Pay?



Too Hurt to Work™? You Should Receive Lost Wages.

You’ve been hurt on the job, and you’re unable to work because of your injuries. You’re living with the physical, emotional and social aftermath—not to mention a major financial burden.

No work means no income, and you’re right to be worried about keeping a roof over your head and paying for food, utilities and other basic needs for you and your family.

The good news: workers’ compensation benefits can get you through this and help you move forward with your life.

Workers’ comp covers your medical treatment related to your injury. It also pays for some of your lost wages, sending you weekly checks.

But how much can you get?

The Mitchell & Associates legal team provides answers below.

If you’re in New Orleans, Baton Rouge, southeast Louisiana or Mississippi, you were hurt at work and you need help, give us call.

How Are My Lost Wages Benefits Calculated?

In most cases, the workers’ comp system looks at the last four weeks of pay you earned before your injury to decide the amount of your checks for lost wages—which are also called indemnity benefits.

Generally, you will receive:

  • About two-thirds of your wages
  • Up to a limit of $653 per week (Louisiana, 2018)

While it’s less than you were making, it goes a long way toward paying your bills.

Don’t take any chances. When you go up against the system, get experienced workers’ comp attorney by your side to make sure you get all the benefits you deserve.

When Will I Receive Workers’ Comp Checks?

We know you have a lot of questions about how to start the workers’ compensation claims process, when you should do it and what to expect. We’re here to answer those questions for you:

    • When should I report the incident?

To protect your eligibility for benefits, you should report your injury or illness to your boss no later than 30 days. The sooner you report your accident, the better, so your benefits don’t get delayed.

    • When will I start receiving my benefits?

You should receive your first check within two weeks from the date a doctor has taken you out of work. Medical treatment for your injury should be covered immediately, but it has to be approved by the worker’s compensation insurance adjuster first.

    • How long will I receive benefits?

As long as your doctor says you can’t work because of your workplace injury, you should continue receiving benefits.

What Happens if My Workers’ Comp Benefits Are Denied?

Your employer and their workers’ comp insurance company may try to prevent you from receiving all the benefits you’re owed.

After all, having to pay a claim means their costs go up.

They could try to use many different reasons to deny your claim, such as saying your injury wasn’t really caused by your job, or sending you to a company doctor and then denying you based on what that doctor says.

You don’t have to face this alone.

An experienced workers’ comp lawyer will be your strongest ally throughout this process.

To make sure you get all the indemnity benefits you’re entitled to after you were hurt at work, call Mitchell & Associates today.



Social Security


Longshore And Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act Claims