Step 1: Report Your Job Injury Immediately
You’re a hard worker and a good employee. Maybe you don’t want to talk about it when an injury keeps you from work.
But one of the biggest mistakes you can make under the workers’ compensation system – a common mistake many people make – is failing to report your job accident right away.
At the first chance you get, tell your boss what happened. Do it immediately.
This is always the first step to a successful workers’ comp claim.
But sometimes people don’t tell anyone right after they get hurt. Sometimes they never tell anyone. Big mistake.
In fact, in the State of Louisiana, injured workers are required by law to report all accidents and injuries to their employers within 30 days. If you wait longer, you could lose access to benefits.
Once you notify your supervisor, the responsibility now falls on your employer to make a report notifying their workers’ comp insurance company of your accident.
And don’t downplay how badly you were hurt.
Sometimes your injury takes a while to start bothering you. Things may feel worse over time.
Don’t miss the 30-day window.
Report your accident right away!
Do this first when you’re hurt at work
If you are injured at work, immediately report the accident to your employer, even if you think you can work through it. If you don’t report your accident within 30 days, you may lose your right to benefits. Get a copy of the accident report.
Seek medical help right away. Your job may send you to the company doctor, but you’ll still be able to see a doctor you chose at their expense by filling out a Choice of Physician form. Make sure you don’t name the company doctor as your doctor. If you do, you probably won’t be able to change it.
If your doctor puts you out of work for more than a week, you’re entitled to start receiving part of the wages you would have made if you didn’t get hurt.
If your employer doesn’t believe you had an accident, or if they don’t pay for medical treatment or start sending checks, call Mitchell & Associates as soon as you can.
We’ll help you get the benefits you deserve.
Step 2: Seek Medical Help
Make sure to take care of yourself so you get the best chance to recover.
Go to the doctor and tell them how you got hurt.
The Louisiana Workers’ Compensation Act says your employer or their workers’ compensation insurer must pay for your medical care.
But don’t just go out and find your own workers’ comp doctors without telling anyone.
To make sure you’re in the system and getting your health care covered, you need to fill out a Choice of Physician form, which your employer or a claims adjuster approves.
Step 3: Gather Information to Protect Yourself
Make sure you get a copy of the accident report your employer makes.
And it helps to write down everything that happened while it’s fresh in your mind.
Write down what you were doing when the accident happened. Write down why you were doing it. Write down who told you to do whatever it was you were doing when you got hurt.
It also helps to make a list of people who witnessed your accident.
Put these notes somewhere safe.
Claims sometimes get denied. If that happens to you, it can take months to get to court. Having this information will ease the process.
You’re already off to a good start by visiting this website to read and research more about workers’ comp. We’ve tried to provide as much useful information as possible.
If you have more questions, call Mitchell & Associates today.
There’s no fee for asking questions.
Step 4: Get Mitchell & Associates to Help You
The best way to protect yourself and your rights when you’re hurt at work is to get an attorney.
An estimated 90% of the people who get hurt at work never get legal advice. Some of them never learn how to make a workers’ compensation claim at all.
The consequences are living with your injuries without help or paying for medical care out of your own pocket.
If you are able to start a workers’ compensation claim on your own, you’ll still have to deal with a claims adjuster.
The adjuster pretty much runs the claim. He or she decides what benefits you will get. If you don’t know what you are entitled to, he or she won’t always tell you.
Even the best adjusters sometimes get bogged down with case files. Your case can easily get lost in the system. Having the help and expertise of an attorney ensures that you get what you deserve.
If your employer doesn’t believe you had an accident, or if they refuse to pay for medical treatment or refuse to pay lost wages, give Mitchell & Associates a call. We know how to maximize your workers’ comp claim.